USS Tryon Honor Roll

30 May

On this Memorial Day 2016, I would like to pay tribute to the men of USS Tryon with the initiation of the USS Tryon Honor Roll.  I will be adding photos of the officers and crew of Tryon as I am able to find them.  I will also include photos that are provided to me by family members of Tryon’s crew, and I hope that this attempt to salute these men will grow with time.

william-d-murphy

Lieutenant Commander William D. Murphy, seen here aboard USS Baxter

Tryon Officers

Officers of USS Tryon.  Photo is undated and unlabeled;  the only men I am able to identify from this photo are Executive Officer H.T. Doughty on the far left of front row, and Mac Perry, on the far right of front row.  I assume that the officer third from the right in the front row is the captain, who, based on the presence Doughty and Perry, would have to be A.J. Byrholdt, although he doesn’t look very much like the pics I posted of him before.

Martin Collliers Bruster Carpenter Feb 15 1945

PhM3c Samuel James Martin; S1c Fred Dean Collier; PhM1c Keith Marshall Bruster; HA1c John Eugene Carpenter. Unfortunately, which is which is not immediately clear.

Dad with Sailors on board the USS Tryon

Unlabeled and undated photo of Tryon Crewmembers.  EM1c Dallas Allen back row, third from right;  EM2c Fred Hughes – front right

dallas-allen-and-friends3

Untitled and undated photo of Tryon crew members. EM1c Dallas Allen front right;  BM2c Matthew Capritta back row, second from right.

perry-with-friends-2-1

Coxswain Noe Rodriguez Garza; Lieutenant Mack Perry; Coxswian Apolonio Pompeyo Solis

perry-with-friends-1-1

Coxswain Hugh L. Armes; Lieutenant Mac Perry; BM2c Matthew Capritta

tryon-crew-3

From left: unidentified Tryon sailor; Lieutenant Mac Perry; Coxswain Noe Rodriguez Garza

tryon-crew-4

Two unidentified Tryon sailors with Lieutenant Mac Perry

cce11282016_0000_1-reverse

EM1c Dallas Vernon Allen with unidentified Tryon sailor

PhM1c Philip Aloysius Duffy, Jr.

11 Responses to “USS Tryon Honor Roll”

  1. terry rose August 16, 2016 at 7:58 pm #

    hello from Wellington New Zealand,the southern most terminus of the South Pacific Express.I would love to obtain a copy of the Book”south pacific express” though from previous blogs it would be easier to order snowflakes from singapore. However thought i would put the interest out there..I have a passion for maritime matters and this winter as a project i’ve been assembling a list of all vessels passing through wellington between jan1942 and august 1945 and of course”Tryon” is right up there among the frequent visitors. My further interest in Tryon and the book is the Grand Hotel Auckland where my late father was the executive chef from 1934 until the hotel closed in 1966.I almost grew up in the hotel-it was a big part of our family history so i would love to read any anecdotes about the Grand or Auckland or Wellington.Conversely if anyone has any queries about weliington or auckland i will do my best to bring a stisfactory reply.
    best regards from down under
    terry rose

    • rememberthetitans August 22, 2016 at 9:52 am #

      Hello Terry! Thanks so much for visiting my blog and taking time to comment. I apologize that it has taken me so long to respond to you. It is fun hearing from someone literally on the other side of the world! Although I don’t have any particular stories I can relate to you regarding my dad’s visits to your beautiful country, I can tell you that he had glowing memories of his times there. His recollections were of a beautiful country and lovely, wonderful people who opened their homes to war-weary young sailors far from home. He always said he would love to return to New Zealand, where he had been treated so kindly as a young man, but the opportunity to travel back across the Pacific never arose for him.

      You have certainly taken on an enormous task, creating a list of ships visiting Wellington during the war, although that number may be slightly fewer than those visiting Auckland, as I believe the larger port was in Auckland. Am I correct there? I know that on some occasions Tryon would first stop at Auckland, then hop down to Wellington afterwards. I’m really not certain what the reason for this might have been – do you have any ideas?

      Thanks again for your comments – it’s really great to hear from someone living in Tryon’s home away from home!

      • Terry Rose September 17, 2016 at 12:51 am #

        Hello from kiwi-land. if i were more diligent in the use of my computer i would have picked up yr reply much earlier but taking advantage of warm early spring weather i over- focused on breathing life back into my garden. really great to hear back from you.
        In the early 1940s there was not a great difference between the ports of Wlg and Akl. though Wlg possessed a modern quay capable of berthing up to 4 or 5 ships in line moored bow to stern.It had no equal in Akl or Australia .For the Marine Corps this quay was a god send, enabling them to combat load their vsls in an orderly manner. As you correctly observe it was common for vsls to drop down from Akl to Wlg. In a lot of cases this was driven by the availablity or otherwise of the drydock in Akl and Wlg..Another point relevant to tryon was the disposition of hospitals. The US Navy commissioned their hospital MOB-6 close to Wlg in Sept 42 so it is very probable that tryon on her 1st visit to Wlg 11th Dec 42 brought patients to this hospital as well as her calls on 17th April and11th october 1943.MOB-6 closed in May 1944 so tryon’s last visit in early Jan 1944 was almost certainly for drydocking.In Akl the navy extended their hospital capacity and the US Army built their own large hospital in 1943.But by mid 1944 with the war moving north all these hospitals closed and staff and equipment moved up to noumea and other more forward areas probably carried by the sth pacific express !!
        As you probably know tryon made 15 calls to Akl,,pinkney17 and rixey 13 between 20 nov 42 and 4 july 44 i/e a total of 45 calls in 20 months.South pacific express indeed.
        My winter project is now almost complete.Your comment re the volume of ships calling at Wlg would be correct.From march 42 to august 1945 there were 249 calls by “Liberty”ships operated by the us war administration. While many brought materiel for the usmc the majority would have called while enroute to noumea/melbourne or india for replenishment of fuel,water and food. The number calling at Akl would be greater but maybe thats a job for next winter. After the departure from Wlg on 1st Nov 43 of 2nd marine div for tarawa the number of shipvisits fell away.
        Thank you for sharing with me the warm feelings youir father had for new zealand.I’ve always had the greatest respect for that generation of young men who touched base here on their way to or from the war zone including your merchant marine. Early 1942 was a time of extreme anxiety in NZ with japan seemingly unstoppable but the arrival in june of your young men brought reassurance and hope. They did the job and made the sacrifices. Those of us who remember these times honor their memory
        with very best regards
        Terry Rose

  2. Dallas Allen November 18, 2016 at 6:04 pm #

    hi, the picture above labeled “Wonderful unlabeled and undated photo of Tryon Crewmembers. Only one is identified: EM2c Fred Hughes – front right” includes my Dad (standing, 3rd from the right). His name is Dallas Allen (EM1c). Thanks for keeping this going.

    • rememberthetitans November 18, 2016 at 10:22 pm #

      Thanks so much for your input, Dallas!! It’s really great to hear from someone interested in Tryon. I’m very happy to learn the ID of another person in that photo. I’ll be sure to add it to the photo. Were you able to find your dad on the “comprehensive list” I posted? From the information on that list It appears that your dad was on Tryon from commissioning till after the war ended. Not only that but he worked his way up through the ratings from Seaman Second Class to Electricians Mate First Class. That took some work on his part.

      I appreciate your help identifying your dad from that photo. I’d also like to add one of him by himself if you have one you would be willing to provide.

      • Dallas Allen November 23, 2016 at 9:55 am #

        I located a picture of my Dad. What is the best way to send it to you?
        Dallas

      • rememberthetitans November 23, 2016 at 11:30 am #

        It’s great to hear back from you, Dallas! I have access to your email from your comments, and will email you. I am happy to be able to add your dad’s individual photo to the Honor Roll.

  3. Maureen Duffy Losee July 11, 2017 at 9:32 pm #

    I am so happy to find this. My father, Philip A. Duffy, was a pharmacist mate aboard the Tryon and I grew up hearing many, many stories! It was neat to see the picture of Fr. Nolan. In 1965 or 66 we went to Boston and visited with him. Seeing the name Al Bennett – they came to see us a couple of times when I was a kid. And I remember Dad talking about Ernie Boudreaux as one of the best shipmates he ever had.
    Dad joined the Navy in 1936, got out after 4, and went back in during the war (that is when he was on the Tryon). He used to tell us she had 2 speeds – full ahead and full astern. I had some pictures that went to the local museum, but if I find others I will provide them. He wrote many little stories about life aboard the Tryon and it has been neat to read these archives and see some of the dates, places, etc. from his stories.

    • rememberthetitans July 12, 2017 at 11:44 am #

      Hi Maureen – it’s great to hear from you! Thanks so much for your comments – it sounds to me like you heard more stories about Tryon than I did! I don’t know if my dad didn’t talk about it much or if I just didn’t pay attention, but I don’t have too many memories of stories about Tryon. It’ very cool you had a chance to meet Fr. Nolan. One of these days I’d like to do a blog post about him. He must have been quite a guy – in the relatively small amount of personal correspondence I have I found THREE different comments about what a great guy he was, one of them being in a letter from my dad to my grandmother. He commented on what a great guy the chaplain was. I think I may have posted this elsewhere, but in “The South Pacific Express” Mac Perry commented that when no protestant chaplain was available he would perform both protestant and Catholic services for sailors on board. I don’t really know what military protocol is on such matters, but it seems to me that that was above and beyond the call of duty, under the circumstances. He passed away not too long after you visited him – in 1967. You can read his obituary here: https://hnp.org/who-we-are/our-friars/deceased-friars/francis-de-sales-nolan/.

      There are a couple of noteworthy things to me about your dad – first, he was a “plankowner” aboard Tryon, meaning that he was a crew member at the time of her commissioning. Secondly, when I added his name to the crew roster it was the first time I had ever seen the name “Aloysius” written out!! When I typed it out I thought, "That's an unusual name!", and I had to sound it out to figure out what it was! But once I did I thought that it was pretty cool. Not a name you hear much any more.

      I would dearly love a photo of your dad, and would especially love to see some of the stories he wrote out, if you wouldn't mind sharing them. I'm sure he had an interesting perspective from a rating's point of view.

      I have a bunch of other things I'd like to add to the blog – Tryon's connection to the Marine 1st Division after they conquered Guadalcanal (your dad would have been part of that), participation in the invasion of Peleliu (after Philip A. was transferred off), Christmas on Tryon, the War captains of Tryon, and so on, but either I don't have the time to work on it or I've gotten lazy! It needs to be more of a priority to me, I guess. I just need to fit it in!!

  4. Jonathan Stinson August 20, 2017 at 11:14 am #

    My grandpa, Walter Louis Bahm was on the USS Tryon. I remember as a young boy reading his journal about his day to day life aboard the ship. He also had a few photo albums showing him and his shipmates aboard the Tryon. Ill have to ask my mother about the photos and see if I cant get any posted on this website. Any info about my grandpa would be greatly appreciated! Thank you.

    • rememberthetitans August 26, 2017 at 6:16 pm #

      Hi Jonathan! Sorry it’s taken me almost a week to reply. I hope you had a chance to check out the info I have about your grandfather on the comprehensive crew roster. Based on that it appears that your granddad enlisted in or near Des Moines, IA on 13 Nov 1942. He reported for duty on Tryon on 30 April 1943, just five days before my dad reported (4 May 1943). He worked his way up through ratings from Hospital Apprentice Second Class to Pharmacist Mate Second Class. He transferred off of Tryon on 11 April 1945. That information came from muster rolls and change reports, as I explained in the post. I checked Ancestry.com to see if I could find anything further about him, and did find an application for war-time compensation from the State of Iowa that indicated that he separated from the Navy on 21 September 1945. Unfortunately that was about all the information that I could find on Walter Bahm.

      If you have specific questions pertaining to Tryon I’ll do my best to answer them. I’d love to add your grandfather’s photo to the Honor Roll – I hope you’re able to find a photo of him. I’d also love to read a copy of his journal – I’m sure it would add a LOT of new information to what I have. And I sure do appreciate your interest in my blog!

Leave a Reply

